The other night Jeremy had some vanilla ice cream. First, vanilla ice cream, in my book is a waste of good cream. It shouldn’t be allowed to have such a pitiful flavor for ice cream to exist on the planet. (I pity you vanilla people who are about to throw rocks at me for blaspheming your beloved flavor). And while I do allow a tolerance when something evil and chocolatey is being poured over the vanilla ice cream, mind you, its not as good as the real thing, chocolate ice cream. Because hey, it redeems the evil vanilla....a little. Well, horror of horrors, we were out of Hershey's syrup. They say necessity is the mother of all invention. It's also the source of my creativity, I would add. And being the creative guy that he is and quite bummed at the thought of plain ice cream, he started hunting through our cabinets. Lo and Behold! The instant hot cocoa.
"What on earth are you doing?" I asked.
"Pouring instant hot cocoa powder on my ice cream," he replied as if this is a common every day kind of thing to do.
"Is it good?"
"Sure why not?"
"Mm, okaaaaaaay." Then I tried it. And wow...it was pretty darn good... as in, not-quite-a-malted-milkshake-good. (Especially with those mini-marshmallows in them. Can I help it if I like the mini-dehydrated marshmallows?)
That was a few months ago. Today, I decided to try something. I had chocolate ice cream...AND Hershey’s syrup AND Instant Hot Cocoa powder. Yes, it was indeed a chocolate attack. I stuck a small scoop in a coffee mug, drizzled the Hershey’s and sprinkled with the cocoa power. Mmmmmm.
I would have preferred a brownie...but in lieu of, this was almost chocolatey enough.
No comments:
Post a Comment