The other night Jeremy had some vanilla ice cream. First, vanilla ice cream, in my book is a waste of good cream. It shouldn’t be allowed to have such a pitiful flavor for ice cream to exist on the planet. (I pity you vanilla people who are about to throw rocks at me for blaspheming your beloved flavor). And while I do allow a tolerance when something evil and chocolatey is being poured over the vanilla ice cream, mind you, its not as good as the real thing, chocolate ice cream. Because hey, it redeems the evil vanilla....a little. Well, horror of horrors, we were out of Hershey's syrup. They say necessity is the mother of all invention. It's also the source of my creativity, I would add. And being the creative guy that he is and quite bummed at the thought of plain ice cream, he started hunting through our cabinets. Lo and Behold! The instant hot cocoa.
"What on earth are you doing?" I asked.
"Pouring instant hot cocoa powder on my ice cream," he replied as if this is a common every day kind of thing to do.
"Is it good?"
"Sure why not?"
"Mm, okaaaaaaay." Then I tried it. And wow...it was pretty darn good... as in, not-quite-a-malted-milkshake-good. (Especially with those mini-marshmallows in them. Can I help it if I like the mini-dehydrated marshmallows?)
That was a few months ago. Today, I decided to try something. I had chocolate ice cream...AND Hershey’s syrup AND Instant Hot Cocoa powder. Yes, it was indeed a chocolate attack. I stuck a small scoop in a coffee mug, drizzled the Hershey’s and sprinkled with the cocoa power. Mmmmmm.
I would have preferred a brownie...but in lieu of, this was almost chocolatey enough.
Wednesday, July 13, 2005
I'm french fried, crispy, and toasted too!

Boy did I get burnt, french fried, and just a wee bit crispy.We took a stay-cation this past weekend, and ventured out to the beach for a day trip on Saturday. It was tons of fun, but we all got a little toasty. It wasn't as if I didn't apply sunblock. Actually, the spots I applied block to, are just fine. It's my back. The part I can't reach and so asked Jeremy to slather me up.
His African American heritage allows him to have enough melanin that he's never burnt, well, until the other day at the pool when he foolishly didn't want to put any on. "OH I'll be FINNNNNNNNEEEE" he said. Hahahahahhahaha...oh wait, did I just evilly cackle out loud? whoops! Yes that's right, he actually got burnt.
Being a novice at such things as sunblock application, Jeremy didn't apply the lotion well at all and now I have swirls on my back. One spot looks like a wing. He felt so bad, I burnt so badly. "OH man, I'm fired. Don't ever make me do this job again," He exclaimed when he saw my back. So I fired him, and hired Ruthie instead. She has been the new back sunblock-applier-person.
We did have a blast at the beach though. It was nice to be on a mini-vacation with just the five of us. The kids loved the sand, digging large holes for unsuspecting persons to fall in, and making 'sand dough.' We might try and go back later this summer. Might being the operative word. If we do, I'll be sure to have Ruthie put on my sunblock.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
